The Fall WCOOP Online Poker Championship kicks off on PokerStars on August 22nd. It will be a very special festival – the 20th anniversary, which the room will celebrate with a record guarantee of $100,000,000.

The WCOOP was first held in 2002 with nine scheduled tournaments, $ 799,150 prize money and 2,452 registrations. Then “Stars” increased the guarantee by $ 2,000,000 and then it only increased.

The only decline was in 2011 when Black Friday hit and American players were unable to compete for the title. The turnout dropped by 25%, but quickly recovered to its previous values.

The key statistics of the championship for 19 years are as follows:

  • 1,433 tournaments played;
  • 5,194,981 registrations were performed (taking into account repeated entries);
  • $ 972,894,032 prize pool was drawn;

The champions took $ 148,952,097.

Until 2016, WCOOP was not budgetary – the cost of tournaments started at $ 215, which made it unattainable for poker players with a small bankroll. Inexpensive to play on the series could only be selected through the satellite.

In 2017, PokerStars is experimenting and launching a multi-tier buy-in schedule. This gave an impressive result – the number of registrations increased from 122,310 to 662,529.

Russia is the leader, the Brazilians are rapidly gaining momentum

The early years of the festival were dominated by the Americans, but the initiative was quickly taken over by the Russians. Today Russia is the leader in the number of won tournaments – 156 cups. The United Kingdom is in second place with 144 titles, and the USA closes the top three with 136 wins.

Brazilians are traditionally considered to be among the most talented in online poker. From 2002 to 2016, they had only 12 titles on their account, but recently they have added 102 wins and moved to 4th place, sharing it with Canada.

Denis Strebkov – twice record holder

Russian Denis “aDrENalin710” Strebkov is the absolute champion of the WCOOP series – he has won 9 titles on his account. Another achievement of Denis is 5 tournaments taken in one festival (2018). No one has yet managed to break this record.

Other places in the rating were distributed as follows:

  • 8 titles – Sean Deeb;
  • 6 titles – Tobias Leknes;
  • 5 titles – Dmitry Urbanovich, Andrey Zaichenko, “calvin7v”, Dan Kelly;
  • 4 titles – Gleb Tremzin, Adrian Mateos, Noah Beken, Joao Vieira, Yuri Martins.

21 players had three awards each, and only 111 participants were able to issue duplicates over the 20-year history.

In a couple of weeks, the anniversary streak will begin with the total WCOOP prize money exceeding $ 1,000,000,000. There is still no schedule, but PokerStars promises that this will be the already familiar festival for players with three levels of buy-ins.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

New Casinos
5.0 rating
€10 Extra + 100% up to €150 + 100 Extra Spins
Welcome Bonus. Minimum Deposit €20. Wagering requirements 20x(d+b)
5.0 rating
100% up to €100
Welcome Bonus. Minimum Deposit no. Wagering requirements 30x(d+b)
5.0 rating
100% up to 40 Extra Spins
Free Spins. Minimum Deposit €50. Wagering requirements 50x
5.0 rating
100% up to €100 + 100 Extra Spins
Welcome Bonus. Minimum Deposit €10. Wagering requirements 35xb
5.0 rating
100% up to €400
Match Deposit Bonus. Minimum Deposit €10. Wagering requirements 40x